Cosmological Planescapes

Mountain landscapes are often valued for there remoteness, relative inaccessibility and degrees of ‘wildness’.  I was thinking about this recently in relation to the times I have spent walking up and down mountains in Scotland, when I remembered that my first post showed a picture with a plane over Glencoe.  I had almost forgotten on a solo walk up Ben Lui that I had another encounter with a plane.  It is ironic that so high up, so far away, is where it brings you closest to the vehicles which have opened up such landscapes to a global accessibility.  In earlier cultures, cosmologies would include aspects such as boats or horse drawn chariots pulling the sun and moon across the heavens.

Leave a Reply

